ARPENAZ XL 2 blue tent - 2 people
From
£29.99*

Reviews on

ARPENAZ XL 2 blue tent - 2 people

4.4 / 5 8 ratings
8 users recommended this product
  • Woman
    20-29 years old
    08 September 2015
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Excellent Tent
    Easy to set up, very waterproof and great value. The porch could have a waterproof tarp.

    I bought this tent for a weekend camping, which unfortunately had a lot of rain involved. Not a drop entered the tent. It was super easy to set up (which was very fortunate as we were doing it between rainfalls). There was quite a bit of space for two people and could probably fit three at a push. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I also had an incredibly useful employee who helped me reserve the tent in another store as it had run out in Surrey Quays.

    Overall I would highly recommend this tent.

  • Man
    20-29 years old
    28 August 2015
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Weekend camper
    Easy enough to put up. Great it comes with porch. Always a bugger to get back in the bag

    Just take a few minutes to suss it out before you go away, but it is easy enough and feels secure and dry for leisure use. It is great for the price though.

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    17 August 2015
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Spacious, Easy to erect, good value for money
    Quick to put up and pack, spacious for two, value none

    I used this tent for two nights in Wales recently and I am really impressed! It was easy to pitch (I watched a 5 minute video on this website before leaving for trip) as well as to pack, was fairly spacious for two people (with an airbed), had extra porch for luggage, appearance was also nice compared to other tents. It rained for one of the nights and we didn't get any water or moisture inside which was very good, otherwise tents can be very messy in rains.

    Suggestion - Buy a porch sheet or something waterproof for the porch as it doesn't have a base.

  • Man
    20-29 years old
    16 August 2015
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Great tent
    Very very spacious for a two man tent Can be slightly difficult for to set up

    The tent is very spacious, can hold three people comfortably (four people would make a tight squeeze) the porch section can definitely hold a few large rucksacks. It can be a little difficult to set for people who haven't set up a two man tent before, two people are recommended to set this tent up. The set-up instructions are on the inside the carry bag. Retains heat very well and has plenty of space between the inner compartment and the outer shell, so even in heavy rain no water will leak through the roof.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    24 June 2015
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    For the money it's excellent.
    Sturdy once pitched, plenty space Ties to fix outer are fidly and don't hold well

    Bought this for camping at Tough Mudder and was pleasantly surprised. The standard Arpenaz 2 isn't particularly light and doesn't really pack small enough for backpacking anyway so the extra £10 over the standard tent is worth it for the extra space and the porch area for storing wet gear.

    Easy enough to pitch, but the flimsy ties used to attach the outer to the poles are a bit of a pain and I can see them being a weak point in the future. They're not quite long enough to tie really tight and often come loose and as a result it's difficult to get the outer to sit straight across the poles. Doesn't seem to effect the structure but if you're picky like me you'll be fiddling around trying to get it to sit right. The previous version with the velcro straps looks like it would have done a much better job and would be worth the extra £5 in my opinion.

    I did manage to tear the ground sheet at one corner while trying to attach the inner to the poles. Tip: to avoid this don't peg the inner down like the instructions say until you get the inner attached to the poles because if you manage to kick the groundsheet while leaning across to attach the inner you'll tear it like I did. Doh!. Maybe this is an obvious thing for seasoned campers but I just followed the instructions on the bag. Thankfully it was a corner under the porch area and even though it hammered down most of the evening the outer managed to keep the water out.

    Condensation was not a problem either. In fact ventilation was very good. I'm 6ft 2 and there was plenty room to stretch out without having to lie at an angle, and I managed to get in and out of my gear no problem. The porch area was a godsend for storing my muddy gear and left more space inside.

    A simple return to the velcro attachments for the outer would make this a 5 star tent. As it stands though it's still a bargain at this price considering some places are selling simple single skin tents for more than this.

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    14 June 2015
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    On the whole, a little gem but with some flaws.
    Quality of materials, waterproofing, PRICE!! A few desirable points omitted to save costs..

    Bought this little tent for a few days' camping near near Inverness.

    Was originally going for a 2-man pop-up from same manufacturer but as I was unsure if my 12 year old son would take to camping, I opted for the cheaper option.

    Pitching was a little tricky the first time but this got a lot better with practice. The pitch requires the usual system of putting short rods at the corners of the ground sheet into sockets at the bottoms of the poles. However, the poles' springy nature meant they kept popping out as I went round from one to the next so I think that TWO people will certainly need to be present to pitch this tent until practice makes perfect.

    When pitching, the videos on Quechua's website helped a lot but a couple of points have been altered in the design since the videos were made (to save costs in manufacture, I assume). The main one being the velcroed flaps shown on the video to hold the outer skin to the poles are now replaced with simple flimsy tie-on strips at strategic points. Much slower and trickier as there are about 6-8 of these to do including one at the apex of the dome. Also (I agree with another reviewer here) the design needs another pegging point one on each side as, even with a moderate wind, the slightly slack material flapped a bit (but never enough to keep us awake during the night). In a strong gale it may be a very different story.

    Once pitched the tent was very roomy and considering it poured down for nearly three days solid, not a drop of water got through the outer skin. The tray groundsheet extended high up (6- 8 inches) but this was needed as the fly sheet doesn't reach the ground at the sides.

    One of the main plus points of this little tent was also a minus - the ventilation system was the most effective I have ever known on any tent - three vents (permanently open) allow air to flow freely through under the outer skin. As a result there was not ONE drop of condensation under the outer skin each morning when we awoke and consequently, none dripped onto the inner skin. The underside of the outer was actually bone dry even though it had been raining heavily each night. The downside to this is that, as the inner tent has large mesh panels at the top, front and back, the efficient airflow between the inner and outer skin meant that it got quite chilly in the inner tent at the coldest part of the night (of course, the upside to this is that there wasn't any condensation inside the inner tent due to our breath, etc!) but it was never draughty inside the inner. The three vents are held permanently open by sewn-in pieces of pole material (about 4 inches long). If I use this tent more I going to consider adding an extra pegging point on each side and adapting the rods holding the vents open so that the vents can be closed or partially closed to control the airflow UNDER the outer skin.

    A good, well-made tent that, for the price, is a bargain!

  • Man
    20-29 years old
    08 March 2015
    Use since 3 to 6 months
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Strong enough for Patagoina
    Stood up against strong winds Zip for the Inner broke & annoying to erect

    I took this tent on a two month trip around Argentinian Patagonia and was pleasantly surprised. It dealt with high winds that broke MSR and other more expensive tents as well as being stuck in torrential rain with out leaking. The main thing that went wrong was that the Inner zip broke near the end of the trip which was rather annoying when they could have used YKK zip which would have lasted longer. The side of the tent near the bottom had no guy points so just flapped under strong winds. Would only recommend for good weather use.

  • 28 April 2014
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Very good budget price tent
    Good internal space and porch area-easy to put up Lack of guying points on bottom of flysheet sides

    Great value for £35.Spacious for two people with gear-have not yet used in bad weather but as its made from similar material to my previous Quechua tent I don't anticipate any problems.

HAUT DE PAGE