£59.99*

Reviews on

Forclaz 400 Men's Hiking Waterproof Rain jacket - black

4.43 / 5 372 ratings
340 users recommended this product
  • Man
    50-59 years old
    17 September 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Refined jacket, some quirky details

    Refined jacket, some quirky details

    As usual the price is a steal compared to the big outdoor brands. For me this jacket is an addition, or possibly a replacement, for a pretty comparable Haglöfs jacket that was more than 5 times as expensive! Now during sales, it is even 25% off again.

    Just inspecting this jacket, it is a pretty serious outdoor (mountaineering) jacket. Short cut, pretty good adjustable hood, ventilation zippers, breathable fabric, taped seams, Velcro adjustment of the cuffs, water resisting zippers for the side-pockets and ventilations. It is all very neatly made. And I quite like the colour combination, a nice matt blue with yellow details.

    There are some quirky details.
    - Breast pockets are pretty essential to me. I want them big, I want them well accessible, and I want 2 of them! In the past I have even adjusted 2 Quechua fleece jackets myself to get that. It is a pity that on this jacket Decathlon has added just one again. It is not particularly small, but it seems small because the zipper is a bit too short and is not placed very practical.
    - The sleeves are mysteriously long. When I compare it to the Haglöfs jacket, which has a very comparable width and length, the sleeves are about 10 cms longer! Fortunately there are the Velcro adjustments to make it usable.
    - The hood lacks a vertical drawcord to keep the hood out the eyes.
    - The main zipper could be of a more robust quality.

    I have just been able to test it during some extended (light) rain. So far it worked well and kept me dry. At first it even shed drops off the fabric. That effect is of limited duration, but the main shell kept me dry.

    The breathability is hard to compare. Under dry conditions it can easily get a bit too warm and stuffy. But I do not think it does a bad job.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    15 September 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Snug

    Excellent wind and rainproof jacket. Only slight criticism is that the sizes come up a bit small and arms a bit long but that's probably because I'm shaped like a orangutan. If you want to use this as part of a layering system definitely go up a size to your normal as it is a " slim" fit. But overall an excellent jacket at a great price.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    30 August 2017
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    To small

    The chest pocket is a little to small

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    29 August 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    great value product

    We bought two of these for a family trip , very impressed at the quality for the cost.

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    20 August 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    hiking jacket for Scottish mountains

    Really pleased with this jacket, does the job, easy to store and kept me dry in traditional Scottish summer weather (sun rain hailstones sun ..all in the same hour ) "Rinse and repeat" :-)

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    19 July 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Good description

    Excellent jacket
    Very lightweight
    Good sleeve length
    Ample pockets
    Folds to carry in backpack

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    13 July 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Look forward to the rain!

    This has been a revelation, I use to dread the rainy days when I was out for a walk, but now I look forward to them, so I can once again be impressed with this jacket! Its not the cheapest but you'll not regret a penny of it. Get home with it covered in rain drops, give it a shake and its dry! its like a well waxed car the water just rolls off it. Add that to the fact that its comfortable to wear and has two large zips under the arms to allow some air in and its a pleasure to wear. I love it.

  • Man
    +60 years old
    16 June 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Lightweight breathable jacket

    I wanted a light pack able jacket for a walking break in the Picos de Europa. This fitted the bill and proved its worth in several periods of heavy rain not letting any in and staying fairly breathable. Good value.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    15 June 2017
    Use since 7 to 12 months
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    superb value

    I was after a jacket for winter mountain biking in Scotland and all bike specific jackets were £100+ and this jacket caught my eye,looks,feels the same as my riding buddies £140 jacket and keeps me bone dry in torrential down pour's.Ive recommended this jacket on many Bike forums and had several people buy on my review,By far this has to be one on the best jackets around and for the money,its very very hard to beat

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    27 May 2017
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Excellent Jacket

    I purchased the black one and its that good i went and purchased the blue one also ,for the money they are great they feel nice with the stretchy fabric i have used in light rain and its been fine and they are very breathable all in all if you stuck a more expensive name on the jacket they would be over £100 .....

    Brand's answer :

    Hello,

    Many thanks for your review of our Forclaz 400 Waterproof Hiking Jacket.

    We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to here you liked it so much your purchased a different colour!

    Kind Regards,

    Isaac Gregg - Quechua UK Product Expert

    Roberts find this answer useful

HAUT DE PAGE