Forclaz 400 Stretch Men's Hiking Fleece - Black
£21.99*

Reviews on

Forclaz 400 Stretch Men's Hiking Fleece - Black

4.4 / 5 9 ratings
8 users recommended this product
  • 19 September 2016
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Forclaz 400

    Bought this top in august, but in the blue colour, very good top for hiking. Warm without weight and a very good fit. Wore this walking up wansfell pike on Sunday (18/09/16) and unfortunately it's started to pill around the waist and back, especially where it's in contact with my rucksack. The product description also states that it won't crease, again my jacket now has crease marks around the waist where it was folded into my rucksack. I would recommend this top to anyone looking for a warm lightweight jacket on the premise it's not worn with anything that may rub against it.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    18 August 2016
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Forclaz 400
    Thumb holes to keep sleeves down/

    Bought as an active top, think I will get more use out it in the winter but so far I like it :)

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    26 July 2016
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Good fleece

    Thin but warm
    Good for a layer or just a one jacket

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    28 April 2016
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Great top
    Close fitting and both warm and light No side pockets perhaps

    Nice top. Close fitting and both warm and light.
    Great for warming up in for various sports and as a layer when out and about.

  • 08 March 2016
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Fabulous fit and colour

    I am a 6ft woman so bought this mans sweater in a size L. It fits perfect and the arms are s great length. Looks fabulous on and the green colour with contrasting blue and white looks ace. Love this.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    31 January 2016
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Great top.
    Value, Warmth, Highly wicking Pocket position.

    Bought for use as a single layer for cycling during the winter.
    I'm borderline small / medium (92cm chest), so bought a small (45.5 cm pit to pit. 52 cm pit to cuff. 66cm neck to hem) which gives a nice snug fit next to the skin.
    The 4 way stretch fabric has a very fine weave outer with a micro fleece inner. There is a surprising amount of loft to the material. The outer weave provides greater wind resistance than plain fleece (but is by no means windproof) and the inner micro fleece provides excellent warmth and wicks extremely well (it feels dry to the touch straight from the wash/spin). For moderate to high intensity exercise the top provides enough warmth as a single layer down to about 3 or 4 degrees centigrade, with the hood and full zip (YKK) providing plenty of scope for regulating body temperature.
    The hood and cuff hems are bound and most seems are flat-locked providing increased comfort.
    There is a small zipped (YKK) chest pocket with enough room for a medium sized smart phone, but the position of the pocket means that it's contents rub against a tender body part.
    Overall a great warm, breathable, highly wicking and lightweight (318 g for the small) piece of kit for the price.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    21 July 2015
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    A top top.
    Its a great priced soft shell top. Lack of external pockets

    This is a great priced, modern cut soft shell top. The slim cut makes it perfect for movement and wearing under a more waterproof layer when needed. The thumb holes allow you to pull it over your hands to keep them warm. The bright colour is good for visibility on the hill.
    Main downside is the lack of side pockets. But the would impact on the slim cut.

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    01 May 2015
    Use since 3 to 6 months
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Nice try, but a flawed design
    nice, comfortable, stretch fabric too tight, poor armscye design

    Close-fitting hoodies such as this are popular with climbers, with the Patagonia R1 Hoody being a particularly popular design.  So, the fact that Decathlon offer something like this is good.  However, the design, as currently implemented, has a number of design flaws.

    Comparing the fit with Decathlon base layers, the hoody is very tight-fitting; whilst I accept that fit is very personal, since we're all different sizes, it's markedly different to your other similar products in the same nominal size. Now, if the item were intended to be a base layer, this might be acceptable, but the full-length YKK size 5 coil zip makes this sort of use uncomfortable (and the fleece fabric isn't great at wicking, which is what we want a base layer to do).  That's why the Patagonia R1 hoody is a half-zip model; there's no zipper on the lower half that will be tucked into trousers.  Even assuming the item is to be used as a base layer, it's still very tight.  I'd suggest some more ease is added to bring it in line, either with your other baser layers, or with a close-fitting mid layer, designed to layer over a base layer.

    The design and build of each of the sleeves is different; the left-hand sleeve is constructed from three longitudinal panels (there may just be one panel, and purely decorative stitching) using colour-contrasting, flat-locked seams, and a conventional, body-side, overlocked, internal seam to form the sleeve tube. The shape is the same as the one-piece RH sleeve, so I can only conclude that the flat locked seams are there for style, to 'continue the theme' of the seam used for the small chest pocket. Maybe you managed to squeeze a bit more out of the fabric roll with this panel cutting arrangement... The RH sleeve has an extra piece flat-locked on at the cuff, so maybe you really were trying to maximise fabric use. But I still suspect you were going for an 'asymmetric look'; style over function.  These unnecessary flat-locked sleeve seams must add to the machining costs (cutting, assembly, sewing).

    Oh, and the cap sleeves aren't as good as raglan sleeves for a garment like this; a raglan sleeve gives better movement, without bunching on the shoulder. The hoody does have a very square-shouldered sleeve cap, which accentuates the bunching... The arm raise is also poor, with the hem lifting by a good 8cm with the arms over the head; again, this is down to poor design of the armscye. The stretch mitigates this a little, but it eventually lifts out of trouser waist when climbing.

    If you wanted to use flat-locked seams somewhere, a better place would have been in the three-panel hood (to improve comfort when worn under a helmet), and maybe the hood/body seam, which are currently conventional overlocked seams.

    Compared to the design quality of the Techwinter 500 shirt, this is a poor design.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    26 September 2014
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Excellent and versatile fleece
    lightweight, close-fitting, warm, has a hood quickly shows signs of wear

    It is a lightweight, stretchy fleece with a hood. It feels extremely comfortable to wear. It is very close-fitting but I like and prefer it this way. Very versatile, I used it for cycling, hiking and at home, in fact I had worn it non stop for the whole first week since buying it! I have had the previous model, without the hood, and had used it for many years - the quality of workmanship is outstanding. The only possible negative I can see is that the elasticized cuffs catch and fray very easily on any hook-and-loop fastners, and many cycling gloves have them, and many bags have them.
    All in all very highly recommended piece of kit.
    Oh, and I love the colour!

HAUT DE PAGE