X-Light 1 Men's Hiking Down Jacket - Black
£27.99*

Reviews on

X-Light 1 Men's Hiking Down Jacket - Black

4.5 / 5 73 ratings
68 users recommended this product
  • Man
    40-49 years old
    05 December 2016
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    For the money...outstanding
    Fit, comfort, style Decathlon click and collect service was poor/slow

    Very pleased with this jacket. I expected to make some compromises for the price level, but I love this jacket and have no complaints. It's light, warm, hard wearing. I use it for climbing indoors and out, and hiking, and pretty much everywhere else! It regularly comes into contact with rocks and no problems with fabric damage.

    Lots of people have mentioned lack of hem cord, and I agree it seems an obvious omission, but it really is a very trivial modification to make to pass a cord through the hem, which I've done.

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    24 November 2016
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    It got damaged while touched on a smooth handle.
    Handy Very thin outer layer.Damaged in the very first us

    Can you replace it

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    23 November 2016
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    good value
    price and fit could have a cord at the bottom to adjust the fit

    Bought this from Huyton store and they were very helpful, you do need to try the jackets on as size and fit seems to vary from coat to coat, strange as most that fit my chest and shoulders were way too big at the waist, but in the end I found one that was a great fit. My wife said it looks good on and at least as good as the Rab I tried on elsewhere.

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    04 November 2016
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Great jacket but !!
    Good quality warm jacket at low price needs a draw string hemline !! Sizing issues !!

    Fantastic jacket for the money , sizes seem to be slightly off with this jacket , every other Quechua top/jacket I own is 2xl , this I ordered & tried on but was a lot smaller than any other jacket I still own so had to move up a size , needless to say this is too big !!
    Jacket is excellent quality & I recommend to anyone wanting a warm winter jacket at bargain prices .
    Only drawback / fault with this jacket is the lack of a drawstring hemline to enable the user to close / tighten bottom of jacket around hips & stop annoying drafts etc.

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    02 November 2016
    Use since More than 1 year
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Sub standard quality-
    Foldable Low quality, claim upto-5 is a bit "overhyped"

    I purchased this product from India for my Europe trip during October 2016 and even with all the extra layers, I found the quality to be sub standard. It is claimed by the company that this jacket can withstand temperature between -5 to -10, but right from day one, even 10-15 degrees in the day time was unbearable and I had to shed some more money to purchase a new jacket from there (but glad that I got a good quality branded product at the same price as this one).

    I purchased this jacket only because it can be folded even though the temperature there was not such extreme one. But after using it I am wondering what could have been my situation if I would have purchased another jacket from decathlon suitable for 5-10 degrees.

    After my experience, It is impossible to believe that this same product can be used in extreme conditions as claimed by the company. I don't know whether this compromise on quality is made for products sold in India only as I can see satisfied reviews from other customers and a complaint similar to mine by an Indian consumer.

    I am glad that I was able to return the product. But, more importantly such a fatal error or misrepresentation is not good from a reputed brand. It is advisable that the company do not make compromises on quality of hiking and winter clothes like these as any under performance from the claimed level will also turn to be detrimental to the health situation of the user.

    A clarification in this regard will help me in deciding whether I can trust and buy products from the company in future.

    Brand's answer :

    Hi Rajeev,

    Thank you for your feedback on the X-light Men's Hiking Down Jacket. I am sorry to hear that the jacket didn't match your expectations.

    Quechua has presence in 30 countries and all the products are designed, prototyped and tested in Chamonix Valley, France. Though it does not matter where you buy the product from, as it has to go through the same quality standards as products from the rest of the world. Therefore the X-light in India is same as X-light in Great Britain or France.
    Our users are at the heart of our innovation and development. Therefore all Quechua down jackets are tested in both laboratory(on a thermal mannequin) and in real conditions by specific user group before reaching the stores.

    The conditions of the test are as follows:
    The user/mannequin is wearing synthetic long sleeve thermals/base layers. A fleece jacket on top and the down jacket as final layer.
    He is also wearing synthetic thermal bottoms and fleece lined pants.
    All the extremities of the test subject body are covered by warm beanie(hat), gloves, warm socks and boots.
    This simulates the real life layering system the user will have while hiking.
    As it is a hiking product, the user/mannequin is walking at 5km/hour speed in wind speeds of 5km/hour.

    With this exact system, the user reports no sensation of cold during the temperatures mentioned in the description.

    But if you are not hiking and your body is not producing enough heat, there are high chances you might feel cold in the same temperature.
    All down jackets work on the same principal, they trap the body heat generated by your body. The more heat your body will generate the warmer they will keep you (hence no cotton, as it is a summer fabric).

    The thermal efficiency of human body is around 20% which means only 20% of the energy it is converted into mechanical work while the rest 80% is heat loss. Therefore when your body is at rest or not much active the heat generated is also less. Therefore insulation required for runner < hiker < football match spectator.

    Also plenty of other variables like material of the first layer(cotton is bad), previous cold exposure(someone local will have more resistance that you), windchill (5 degree Celsius will feel 0 degree at 30km/hr wind and a windproof layer is recommended in such cases) plays a large part in thermal comfort.

    All this information can be little confusing therefore we mention the most important of it on our website and instore.

    I am available in case of any questions.

    Regards,
    Many thanks,
    Ravindra Charan
    Product Trainer & Community Manager-Mountain Sports

    RAJEEV find this answer not useful

  • Man
    +60 years old
    30 October 2016
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Not Suitable for below 0° C
    Light weight and low cost Not suitable for temperature below 0°C

    I have recently bought this product and undergone a trek at Roopkund, Uttarakhand. India. At first I was impressed as Decathlon website mentions that the jacket is suitable for -5° to -10°C. Along with the jacket, I have used three layer protection, i.e. undergarment, Quechua fleece inner, cots-wool shirt and sweater, During night the temperature went down to almost -5°C and the jacket failed to give me adequate warmth.Moreover, some feathers came out out of the jacket's top surface. The positive thing about the jacket is its low price and light weight. It may be suitable for places where temperature does not go below 0°C.

  • Man
    20-29 years old
    26 October 2016
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Product is excellent, I am really happy
    Comfort and usefull

    I don't have any advice to you

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    24 October 2016
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    X Light 1 Men's Hiking Down Jacket - Dark Blue
    Value for money, Speed of delivery & Looks great.

    This jacket was great value and arrived really quickly. I've marked the size as 'AS EXPECTED'... but would comment that it is a snug fit on me. I ordered a Medium and I usually wear a 38" Jacket. There isn't much room for a thick jumper under the jacket- but then again it's the snug fit that keeps you warm. It's nice and light, but will keep you warm (without getting too hot).

  • Woman
    40-49 years old
    21 October 2016
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Great lightweight packable jacket
    Good value Sizing a little confusing

    Take care when ordering if you are UK XL you need to order 3XL.

  • Woman
    40-49 years old
    20 October 2016
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    purchase confirmed
    Great Value
    Quality, price Quite brightly coloured, almost hi-viz

    I bought this for my husband at the sale price of £14.99. I have to say that it is every bit as good as my Rab down jacket. OK the colour is very bright but as a climber he does not mind that. The sizing is accurate and I would recommend the jacket to anyone. If you don't mind the bright colour then grab yourself a bargain.

HAUT DE PAGE